DACA (Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals)

On June 4th, 2014 Secretary of Homeland Security Jeh Johnson announced the official process for renewing DACA. Current recipients can find the application on the USCIS Website .

To check if you meet the requirements for Renewal (as well as for the original DACA Application explained below), detailed information as well as a step-by-step guide can be found at Immigration Direct.

On June 15th, 2012 President Barack Obama announced the Deferred Action Program which would protect undocumented students from deportation and would provide students with work authorization for a two year period. Students must meet the following eligibility requirements.


1.     Under the age of 31 as of June 15, 2012;

2.     Came to the United States before the age of 16.

3.     Have continuously resided in the United States from June 15, 2007 to the present.

4.     Physically present on June 15, 2012.

5.     Entered without inspection before June 15, 2012, or your lawful immigration status expired as of June 15, 2012.

6.     Are currently in school, have graduated high school or obtained a general education development (GED) certificate, or are an honorably discharged veteran of the Coast Guard or Armed Forces of the United States.

7.     Have not been convicted of a felony, significant misdemeanor, three or more other misdemeanors, and do not otherwise pose a threat to national security or public safety.


For an application and more information please visit the US Citizenship and Immigration Services’ website.

More information on application review in Massachusetts.